Josh Rosebrook Cacao Antioxidant Face Mask

I purchased Josh Rosebrook Cacao Antioxidant Face Mask as my first product from the line. There were so many good reviews for it and as a fan of chocolate and antioxidant skincare, I decided this would be the best starting point.

The mask is quite thick and kind of difficult to spread onto skin smoothly. You can’t add water to it because it will turn into a brown liquid immediately so you just have to keep pressing and rubbing around skin. I was concerned by the tugging and pulling as I applied this thick product. Although it is ready to be used out of the container, I found it harder to apply correctly and evenly than the powder masks. I did not like the roughness of the mask for this reason.

The mask smells like cacao and vinegar which is a little strange but I did not mind. Only you will randomly smell the vinegar very strongly as you sit there with the mask on your face. The ingredients are:

Vitamin Infused Water, *Cacao, *Witch Hazel, *Vinegar, *Almond Oil, Marula Oil, *Baobab Oil, *Grape Seed Oil, *Avocado Oil, *Jojoba Oil, *Sundflower Oil, *Evening Primrose Oil, *Vegetable Glycerin, *Rose Petal, *Turmeric, *Goji Berry, *Dandelion, *Eyebright, *Rosemary, *Ashwagandha, *Sage, *Beetroot, *Alfalfa, *Black Cohosh, *Raspberry Leaf, *Elderberry, *Chickweed, *Calendula, *Rose Hip, *Hawthorn Berry, *Ginkgo, *Cinnamon, *Marshmallow Root, *Bladderwrack, *Ginger, *Milk Thistle, *St. John’s Wort, *Cat’s Claw, *Licorice, *Lavender, *Fenugreek, Orange Essential Oil, †Lavender Essential Oil, Rosemary Essential Oil, †Calendula Essential Oil. 

*CERTIFIED ORGANIC

†ORGANIC

So this mask says it is antiaging and good for all skin but I really think it is more suitable for acne skin types because of how high witch hazel and vinegar are. Once the mask is on your skin, and you begin to feel it dry, your skin does feel like it is getting cleaned.

Washing the mask off is similar to powder masks, there are bits that will be stubborn and stick around and others that come off right away. I was disappointed at how messy the mask became, as the brown liquid just started running everywhere, leaving the counter so dirty. I never had this experience with any other mask. Even wiping with a sponge left the sponge brown. So it is a product that I can only use BEFORE I go into the shower.

I did not find the mask to have any benefits that I was not getting from others, but the experience of using it was not good for the above reasons so I will not repurchase or recommend it.

One thought on “Josh Rosebrook Cacao Antioxidant Face Mask

  1. Great to see you back! I have tried Josh Rosebrook products and my belief is that the guy is a god when it comes to hair but his skincare range is not his strong point.

Leave a Reply

