Budget Friendly Toner Review

Image

 

This summer I have been interning in an office that has the temperature set to 65 degrees, so with the constant AC, my skin has been so dry. After I ran out of the YULI elixir, I realized that I NEEDED a toner in my life STAT. Previously I didn’t think toners were a necessity but I saw how wonderfully my skin responded over time to the Yuli elixir. However, despite my internship I’m still a college student so I decided to venture out to try some budget friendly options. 

The first I tried was the Blossom & Leaf toner from Andalou Naturals. It is a toning refresher for all skin types with organic aloe vera, fruit stem cells, and Vitamin C, quite a list for something that costs $12.95! Here is the full ingredients list:

Aloe Barbadensis Juice*, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B5), Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Lauric Acid, Fruit Stem Cells (Malus Domestsica, Solar Vitis) and BioActive 8 Berry Complex*, Resveratrol, Ubiquinone (CoQ10), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Aspalathus Linearis (Rooibos), Hibiscus Rosa-Sinensis and Camellia Sinensis (White Tea) Extracts*†, Phenethyl Alcohol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Citrus Aurantium (Petitgrain) and Geranium Maculatum Oils*

Amazing right? When I tried this in store I found it light and refreshing so I knew this would be my next purchase. After using up the entire bottle I have to say, I don’t think this will be a repurchase. Although the sample worked well in store, when I spray this on my face it would get really red and I felt a stinging sensation. I told myself that maybe this was the alcohol or the Vitamin C causing slight irritation. However even now when I’m nearly finished with the bottle, I still experience this stinging and redness. And my skin doesn’t seem to like it. I just notice that it is a little more prone to breaking out especially around my t-zone. Facial oils also don’t seem to blend as well. I still think this is a decent product, I just wish it worked for my skin because the price certainly does!

Next I tried Alaffia’s Rooibos & Shea Butter Antioxidant Facial Toner which seemed to offer a lot of hydration when I tried it in the store. It reminded me a little of the Tata Harper foral essence sample I got one time, so at $14, I knew I had to try it in case I found a secret gem! The toner is indeed one of the most moisture intensive toners I have ever tried. Here is the full ingredients list:

Aqueous extracts of Shea (Butyrospermum parkii) Leaf*, Fair Trade Rooibos (Aspalathus linearis), and Witchhazel (Hamamelis virginiana),â„¢ Aloe Vera, African Wild Honey*, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Vanilla Extract, Ylang Ylang Essential Oil, Limonene (from essential oil), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)

 

Unfortunately there is phenoxyethanol preservative in here. I think the moisture comes from Shea butter and Honey both of which make this toner thicker. I could tell that my skin felt happier in the environment of constant AC but I just didn’t feel that “light refreshing” feeling that I wanted from a toner. With facial oils, this can be a bit heavy so I ended up reducing my facial oil by one drop.

Between the two, I prefer the Alaffia toner as I didn’t get redness/irritation from it despite the fact that the Andalou toner had a more impressive ingredient list. I wish one of these hit it out of the park because they’re priced so well but to be honest, I kind of couldn’t wait to finish these up so I could go back to the YULI elixir which I’ve now ordered in their gigantic size. I guess sometimes you really do get what you pay for, and after trying these two products I’m happy and comfortable to pay more for a more expensive elixir that meets all my requirements and makes my skin happy.

One thought on “Budget Friendly Toner Review

  1. I am in the exact same situation! I tried surviving on a Heritage Store Rosewater spray, which provided quick relief, but my face was still dry and rosy from cubicle weather. Got YULI Cocoon Elixir last week and not only does my face feel more hydrated, but also it looks much less dry and rosy. Also loving the 100ml size!

Leave a Reply

